Las Vegas Review-Journal wins NPA’s general excellence award

Eufemia Didonato

Updated 3:40 pm PDT, Friday, September 25, 2020 This photo by Yasmina Chavez of the Las Vegas Sun, of vehicles lined up to enter the snow-covered Red Rock Canyon following some cold and rainy weather on Dec. 27, 2019, won Photo of the Year honors from the Nevada Press Association Thursday, […]


CARSON CITY, Nev. (AP) — The Nevada Press Association released its complete list of 2020 award winners on Thursday and the Las Vegas Review-Journal won the General Excellence Award in the urban category.

Review-Journal reporter Arthur Kane won outstanding journalist and photographer L.E. Baskow won visual journalist of the year.

Yasmina Chavez of the Las Vegas Sun was honored for photo of the year and Michael Ramirez of the Review-Journal for the best editorial cartoon. John Kerr of the Review-Journal won the award for the best editorial, which argued that city fire officials had ignored warnings that could have prevented a fire at the Alpine Motel Apartments that killed six and injured 13.

Michael Scott Davidson, Lauren Flannery and Rachel Aston of the Review-Journal were awarded story of the year for a series on evictions and the state policies governing them. The Reno Gazette-Journal’s Anjeanette Damon won podcast of the year for her work on The City Season 2, which documented fights over a downtown strip club against a larger backdrop of urban transformation as tech titans expand their presence in Reno.

Awards in major categories were announced online over a 10-day period rather than at an in-person ceremony due to the ongoing coronavirus pandemic. Entries were judged by a panel of members of the Utah Press Association.

The press association inducted five new members into its Hall of Fame, including reporter-editor Dennis Myers, former Review-Journal editor Don Diglio, editor Thomas Mitchell, Reno reporter-columnist Cory Farley and Nellie Mighels Davis, the first woman to cover the state Legislature in 1877.

The Review Journal’s Rico Lacanlale was named “Journalist of Merit.” The Nevada Current’s Jeniffer Solis and Damon from the Gazette-Journal won for feature writing and business feature, respectively.

The other general excellence awards went to Edible Reno-Tahoe for magazines and the Elko Daily Free Press for rural publications.

A full list of winners will be available at the Nevada Press Association web site:

Next Post

Career Advice For College Students Navigating The New Normal

Co-Founder of Early Stage Careers, providing tailored career guidance exclusively to college students, recent grads and 20-somethings. getty For many college students, the university experience is a launching point for their careers. However, many of the traditional college-to-career pipelines are built around the physical campus and these may not be accessible […]